Revolut Available Countries

Revolut Available Countries

Understanding Revolut's global operations, regulatory compliance, and plans for business expansion.

Summary: Revolut, a financial services provider, operates in over 35 countries including the EEA, Australia, Singapore, Japan, and the US. Its presence in Asia is limited due to regulatory challenges. The company offers crypto services in select regions and operates under the supervision of the UK's Financial Conduct Authority. Revolut Business serves the EEA, Switzerland, the UK, and some countries outside Europe. Services vary by region due to differing financial regulations.

Revolut Available Countries
4.5 out of 5.0 by Datawallet
Revolut is accessible in more than 35 countries, mainly within the European Economic Area (EEA), as well as in selected global locations like Australia, Singapore, Japan, and the United States among others.
Country Availability
EU, UK, USA, Australia + 31 more
Licenses & Regulation
Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) and the ECB
Key Services
Personal Banking, Business Banking, Investing & more

Content Guide
Daily Newsletter & Research  🗞️

Get the daily newsletter keeping 200,000 investors ahead of the market.

Your email been received!
Please double check your email address.

Which Countries is Revolut Available?

Revolut offers its financial services to customers in more than 35 countries, predominantly within the European Economic Area (EEA), and also extends its reach globally. This includes countries such as the UK, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Spain, Greece, and the Netherlands, but also Australia, Singapore, Japan, the United States and more.

For identity verification, Revolut requires using a valid passport across all regions it operates in. However, in several specific countries, including the UK, France, Germany, and many others, customers can also opt to use their ID cards for ID verification.

Revolut Countries

Is Revolut Supported in Asia?

Revolut's services are available in a limited capacity in Asia, specifically in Singapore and Japan. Despite several large economies in the region, such as the Philippines, Hong Kong, South Korea, and Malaysia, not being serviced by Revolut, expansion plans have been announced for India, the Philippines, and New Zealand within the next year.

This limited presence primarily results from existing regulatory ambiguities in these regions. Until financial regulations are clarified, it seems that Revolut's growth strategy will continue to target markets with well-established regulatory frameworks that complement its business model.

What Countries is Crypto Available on Revolut?

Revolut allows users in the European Economic Area (EEA), Australia, Canada, Singapore, Switzerland, Japan, and the United States to buy, hold and sell digital assets directly within the Revolut Crypto app.

However, it is always wise to check the most recent information directly from Revolut's website or customer support, as the company's services and the regulations governing them can change. Different countries have different rules regarding the trading and holding of cryptocurrencies, which can impact Revolut's ability to offer these services.

Revolut Regulation and Licensing

Revolut operates under various regulatory frameworks to offer its suite of financial services. It is licensed under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011, and is supervised by the UK's Financial Conduct Authority (FCA). This permits the company to issue electronic money and provide payment services throughout the European Economic Area (EEA) without requiring individual country licenses. Additionally, Revolut complies with the Revised Payment Services Directive (PSD2), ensuring secure and efficient payment processing for its users.

However, it's important to note that while Revolut is regulated for most of its financial services, its cryptocurrency services operate outside the purview of the FCA. The purchase, sale, and holding of digital assets through Revolut's platform are not subject to the same regulatory oversight as its traditional financial services.

Revolut Business Supported Countries

Revolut Business is available to companies registered and operating in the European Economic Area (EEA), Switzerland, and the United Kingdom. This includes, but is not limited to, countries like France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Spain, and the Netherlands.

Furthermore, Revolut has also expanded its business services to other countries outside of Europe, such as the United States, Australia, and Singapore. However, the range of services available can vary depending on the region due to differing financial regulations.

Revolut Business Countries

Bottom Line

In summary, Revolut's services are accessible in over 35 countries, including the EEA, US, Australia, and Singapore. Its presence in Asia, Latin America and abroad is limited due to regulatory complexities in the emerging digital banking sector. Digital asset services are offered in various regions such as the EEA, Australia, Canada, Singapore, Japan, and the US. 

Revolut operates under strict regulatory frameworks like the Electronic Money Regulations 2011 and PSD2, supervised by the FCA, but its crypto services have less oversight. Revolut's business services are available in the EEA, Switzerland, the UK, and others.

Frequently Asked Questions

Got More Questions? We've Got Answers.
A Guide to Commonly Asked FAQs.

What identification is needed for Revolut?
Does Revolut service the Middle East?
What regulatory bodies oversee Revolut's operations?